Cream(ed)fields

Hello all! 

I told you I would be back soon. So since the last post didn’t really have anything to do with what’s been going on in my life recently I will take this opportunity to inform y’all. 

So I have ten days left in this city. Very bittersweet, mostly bitter. I’ve been trying to fill my time with all things I won’t be able to do in the U.S. It’s also a good excuse to eat out rather than getting a cheap pay-per-kilo salad from Primavera. Last Monday I went to Bomba de Tiempo (again!) with Fran. It was sooo fun; this time they had an accordion player as the musical guest!!! I was so excited, I really wish Melissa had been there to see it to because I never appreciated all the tangos she used to play until now! I think I’m going to go again next Monday because I don’t have my drugs and violence night class anymore.

Tuesday the hot weather arrived… Tues, Wed, and Thurs it was 90 degrees and sooo humid. I enjoyed it for the most part though, but my allergies were pretty brutal. Wednesday there was a huuuge black out because everyone was beginning to use their fans and ACs all at the same time, so 9 de Julio (the largest avenue in South America next to the one in Brazil, although people here still say it’s the largest even though it’s not) lost power in the traffic lights and it was CHAOS. When it happened I was walking to chorus and had to cross the avenue… prettttty fun. So the building that the IES center is in also lost power and me and Lautaro, my chorus instructor, walked up 12 floors!! Luckily the building was already somewhat cool because the ACs are always on, but if it wasn’t it would have been sweltering. By the time I got home that night the power was back on, luckily. Although, my flat doesn’t have AC so it wouldn’t have really mattered. 

Thursday night was the largest protest in Argentina in YEARS! There were 700,000 people walking down Santa Fe and 9 de Julio to the Obelisko, basically the center of the city and very close to the government center. They were protesting the high crime rates, corruption in the government and the changing of the Constitution. Cristina wants to change the Constitution so that there is no limit to presidential terms, meaning she’d be the president for another like ten more years. Which is loony, but I also haven’t seen her explicitly say that she is trying to do this, but I wouldn’t put it past her. Anyway, the protest was very peaceful and actually kind of exciting; everyone was singing and chanting and banging on their pots and pants per usual Argentine fashion. Image

Saturday night I went to Creamfields (giant electronic dance music festival) with some friends and had an awesome time. We got there around 9 pm and I got home at 7 am the next morning, so you could imagine I was tired Sunday. Saturday was also the Pride festival but I didn’t get to go because I had to catch a bus to Creamfields. 

And so far I haven’t really done a lot of exciting things… last night I saw the new James Bond movie with Fran and it was pretty good! Today for my Spanish class we decided to take a spur-of-the-moment field trip to Medialuna Express and that was also very exciting.

Sorry about the boring post but I just wanted to keep record of what I’ve been doing the past few weeks. I’ll post again before I leave with more exciting things, I’m sure. 🙂

Hasta luego y’all.

Leave a Reply

