Back to el mundo real…

Buenas noches, everyone!

Finally everything is falling into place here! On Monday we started the rest of our classes and so far it’s been great! The weekend was also fun. Saturday was our friend Bonnie’s birthday and we went out to dinner (thanks Mrs. Bright!) and then to a bar called Jobs, which was three levels and on the top floor they had archery, and there were board games everywhere! So Wetzel. On Sunday Julia, Kathryn and I went to the feria by the Recoleta Cemetery, which I still have yet to see but have four months to do so, anyway. It was a GORGEOUS day out.. 65 and sunny. The best part of this little outing was my trip to Freddo. Even though I had to wait in line for about twenty minutes, the helado de frambuesa (raspberry gelato) was the BEST and made it all worth it. After that I watched the closing ceremony which was awesome… Spice Girls comeback? I got an early night’s rest that night because Monday was my first day of classes!! I had to wake up at 8 am (everyday) to make it to IES at 9:30 wahhhh. But it’s actually pretty easy to wake up here for some reason. So yesterday I had Spanish 300, then Marketing in Latin America (taught in English), then Argentine Poetry (taught in Spanish), and finally Drugs & Violence in Latin American Art and Literature (taught in English and so far, my favorite class.) My classes lasted until 8 pm, with a two hour break in between for lunch and stuff. So by the time I got home I was exhausted!! Nora gave us the most delicious meal ever… first a vegetable soup with croutons, and then a pasta dish that Cati made with like pumpkin and vegetables. And for dessert we had rice pudding and caramelized fruit… it was sooo delicious!!! After I went straight to bed.

Today I woke up at 8 again for my “Advanced Academic Writing Workshop.” Sounds more difficult than it actually is, but it’s going to be a LOT of writing. Maybe I’ll post some of my escritos on here! After I went home to meet Julia and got lunch with her and Kathryn. While we were there it started to downpour with thunder and lightning! I don’t know what it is about BsAs but it loves to thunder here, and it is way scarier than in the States. It was thundering before I left for classes too! When I came home I took a VERY long nap (three hours approximately) because I have been feeling a bit under the weather. I’ve never actually had a cold in August so it’s a weird feeling! Hopefully Nora comes home soon so we can eat! I’m starvinggg.

This weekend I’m taking a trip with some other students from IES to Iguázu Falls in Puerto Iguázu, Argentina!! It is supposed to be one of the natural seven wonders of the world according to National Geographic! I’m so excited. We are taking a 17 hour bus ride on Friday night to arrive on Saturday morning (don’t be too shocked, the busses here recline most of the way back and are WAY comfier than in the States). Saturday night we are staying at a backpacker’s hostel which is made entirely out of tree trunks! It looks sweet. There’s a pool and stuff too which will be great, since it’s supposed to be 90 degrees there all weekend. We are going to take a boat ride that brings you really close to the falls, kind of like at Niagra. And then Sunday night we are taking a bus back to arrive Monday morning, since we don’t have school that day. I’m so excited! It’s a great group of people going and we’re going to have a lot of fun. I probably won’t blog until afterwards, so stay tuned America!

Besos,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

